Case Study-AW-Q171 Online Services
The Gibson Company is a United States (US) firm that is considering a joint venture with Brasilia, DF, a Brazilian firm that grows and processes coffee beans. Gibson has a patent for a new coffee processing method. This intellectual property is motivating Gibson to expand beyond importing coffee to engaging in a joint venture to process the coffee. Gibson will invest $8 million in the proposed joint venture project, which will help to finance Brasilia ‘s production using the newly patented process.
The Brazilian government has guaranteed that the after-tax profits (denominated in Reals, the Brazilian currency) can be converted to US dollars at the current exchange rate and sent to the Gibson Company each year. Current exchange rates can be found at
For each of the first five years, 60 percent of the total profits will be distributed to Brasilia, while the remaining 40 percent will be converted to dollars to be sent to
Gibson. The income tax rate for the joint venture will be 10%. However, the Brazilian government is considering raising the income tax rate to 30%. At the present time, the Brazilian government doe not impose a separate income tax on profits sent out of the country. However, the Brazilian government is considering imposing an additional 10 percent income tax on profits distributed to a foreign company. Assume that there are no other forms of tax. After considering the taxes paid in Brazil, assume an additional seven percent tax imposed by the US government on profits received by Gibson Company.
You can read more about our case study assignment help services here.
How it Works
How It works ?
Step 1:- Click on Submit your Assignment here or shown in left side corner of every page and fill the quotation form with all the details. In the comment section, please mention Case Id mentioned in end of every Q&A Page. You can also send us your details through our email id email@example.com with Case Id in the email body. Case Id is essential to locate your questions so please mentioned that in your email or submit your quotes form comment section.
Step 2:- While filling submit your quotes form please fill all details like deadline date, expected budget, topic , your comments in addition to Case Id . The date is asked to provide deadline.
Step 3:- Once we received your assignments through submit your quotes form or email, we will review the Questions and notify our price through our email id. Kindly ensure that our email id firstname.lastname@example.org and email@example.com must not go into your spam folders. We request you to provide your expected budget as it will help us in negotiating with our experts.
Step 4:- Once you agreed with our price, kindly pay by clicking on Pay Now and please ensure that while entering your credit card details for making payment, it must be done correctly and address should be your credit card billing address. You can also request for invoice to our live chat representatives.
Step 5:- Once we received the payment we will notify through our email and will deliver the Q&A solution through mail as per agreed upon deadline.
Step 6:-You can also call us in our phone no. as given in the top of the home page or chat with our customer service representatives by clicking on chat now given in the bottom right corner.
We use best scientific approach to solve case study as recommended and designed by best professors and experts in the World. The approach followed by our experts are given below:
The first step in solving any case study analysis is to define its problem carefully. In order to do this step, our experts read the case two three times so as to define problem carefully and accurately. This step acts as a base and help in building the structure in next steps.
The second step is to define structure to solve the case. Different cases has different requirements and so as the structure. Our experts understand this and follow student;s university guidelines to come out with best structure so that student will receive best mark for the same.
Research and Analysis
This is the most important step which actually defines the strength of any case analysis. In order to provide best case analysis, our experts not only refer case materials but also outside materials if required to come out with best analysis for the case.
Conclusion & Recommendations
A weak conclusion or recommendations spoil the entire case analysis. Our expert know this and always provide good chunks of volume for this part so that instructors will see the effort put by students in arriving at solution so as to provide best mark.
- Physics Assignment Help
- Chemistry Assignment Help
- Engineering Assignment Help
- Psychology Assignment Help
- Online exam Help
- Marketing Assignment Help
- Arts Assignment Help
- Sociology Assignment Help
- Project Management Assignment
- Case Study Help
- Nursing Assignment Help
- Research Assignment Help
- Operations Management Assignment help
- Accounting Assignment Help
- Biology Assignment Help
- Mathematics Assignment Help
- English Assignment Help
- Business Plan Help
- Essay Writing Help
- Human Resource Assignment Help
- Accounting Homework Help
- Computer Science Assignment Help
- Finance Assignment Help
- Economics Assignment Help
- Statistics Homework Help
- Management Assignment Help
- Strategy Management Assignment Help
- Auditing Assignment Help
- Information Management Assignment Help
- Online Assignment Writing help
- Humanities Assignment help
- Taxation Homework Help
- Corporate Finance Assignment Help
- Financial Management Assignment Help
The expected total profits resulting from the joint venture per year are as follows
Year Total Profits from Joint Venture (in BRL)
1 40 million
2 60 million
3 70 million
4 90 million
5 120 million
Gibson’s average cost of debt is 6 percent before taxes. Its average cost of equity is 9 percent. Assume that Gibson’s US income tax rate is 10 percent.
Gibson’s capital structure is 70 percent debt and 30 percent equity. Gibson adds between 2 and 5 percentage points to its cost of capital when deriving its required rate of return on international joint ventures. Gibson plans to account for country and other risks within its cash flow estimates.
Gibson is concerned about country risk in the following two forms
(1) Will the Brazilian government increase the corporate income tax rate from 10 percent to 30 percent (20 percent probability)? If this occurs,
Gibson will receive additional tax credits on its US taxes, resulting in no US taxes on the profits from this joint venture.
(2) Will the Brazilian government impose a separate income tax of 10 percent on the profits distributed to foreign companies such as Gibson (20 percent probability)? If this occurs, Gibson will not receive additional tax credits, and the company will still be subject to US tax on the profits from this joint venture.
Assume that the two types of country risk are mutually exclusive. If it does anything, the Brazilian government will only implement one of these changes in its tax policies
(i.e., the increase in the basic income tax on the profits of the joint venture or the additional income tax on profits distributed to foreign companies). The Brazilian government may also choose to leave things as they are.
1. Determine Gibson’s cost of capital and required rate of return for the joint venture in Brazil.
2. Determine the discrete probability distribution of Gibson’s Net Present Value for this joint venture and calculate the Expected Net Present Value.
3. Would you recommend that Gibson participate in the joint venture? Explain.
4. What do you think would be the key underlying factor that would have the most influence on the profits earned in Brazil as a result of the joint venture?
5. Under what circumstances might Gibson shift to more equity financing when considering joint ventures like this? What is the minimum required return that
Breakeven analysis is a tool used to determine the level of sales needed to balance costs and revenues. This tool can also be used to determine the level of sales needed to reach a specific profit (target profit).
Conversely, this tool may determine the selling price needed to achieve a specific profit given the level of demand (target return pricing).
Finally, this tool provides an analysis of how sensitive the profit is to variations in sales (sensitivity analysis).
Widgets, Inc. Per Unit 1,000 units
Sales $25.00 $25,000
Variable Manufacturing Costs $15.00 $15,000 Variable costs are costs that increase as volume increases, such as raw materials and direct labor.
Fixed Manufacturing Costs $5,000 Fixed costs are costs that do not increase with volume, such as factory rent, depreciation and insurance.
Total Manufacturing Costs $20.00 $20,000
Contribution Margin $10.00 $10,000 Contribution margin is Sales less Variable Costs
Gross Profit $5.00 $5,000 Gross Profit is Sales less Total Manufacturing Costs
Selling, General & Administrative Costs $2,000 These are non-manufacturing costs, which are usually fixed
Income before Taxes $3,000
Breakeven Formula: Breakeven Quantity = Total Fixed Costs = $5,000+ $2,000 = 700 units
Unit Contribution Margin $10.00
# Units Sales Variable Manufacturing Costs Fixed Costs Total Costs Income before Taxes
0 0 0 $7,000 $7,000 -$7,000
100 $2,500 $1,500 $7,000 $8,500 -$6,000
200 $5,000 $3,000 $7,000 $10,000 -$5,000
300 $7,500 $4,500 $7,000 $11,500 -$4,000
400 $10,000 $6,000 $7,000 $13,000 -$3,000
500 $12,500 $7,500 $7,000 $14,500 -$2,000
600 $15,000 $9,000 $7,000 $16,000 -$1,000
700 $17,500 $10,500 $7,000 $17,500 $0 Breakeven
800 $20,000 $12,000 $7,000 $19,000 $1,000
900 $22,500 $13,500 $7,000 $20,500 $2,000
1,000 $25,000 $15,000 $7,000 $22,000 $3,000
Problem Assignments: Week 8
Assigned Problems Points
1-A What is the contribution margin of the product? 2 points 2
1-B Calculate the breakeven point in unit sales and dollars.
Answer: Breakeven in units is 11,112 3 points 2
Answer: Breakeven in dollars is $83,340.00 3 points 2
Why is the answer not 11,111.111 units? 2
1-C What is the operating profit (loss) at 5,000 units per year?
Answer: -$27,500.00 Loss 3 points 2
1-D What is the operating profit (loss) at 15,000 units per year?
Answer: $17,500.00 3 points 2
Product Code – Case Study-AW-Q171
Looking for best Case Study-AW-Q171 online ,please click here